Sarnoff Foundation Inspiring the Physician-Scientists of TomorrowAbout Us
advanced search

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the ultimate governing authority of the Foundation. Its mission is to govern the Foundation, protect the organization's image and assets, and be the moral voice of the Sarnoff community.

The Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws of the Foundation require that a majority of seats on its Board of Directors shall be persons nominated by the Foundation's designated medical institutions ("Publicly Supported Organizations," defined in the Internal Revenue Code). Dr. Sarnoff's successor nominates candidates for the remaining positions on the Board. Elected members who were nominated by the PSOs shall always constitute a majority of the Board. Director vacancies are filled on an annual basis; the Directors serve staggered terms. The present Board consists of eleven voting members. The Executive Director serves as a non-voting member. Mrs. Stanley J. Sarnoff is a non-voting honorary member of the Board.

The Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation is pleased to announce that Northwestern University and the University of Washington have accepted their appointment as nominating institutions of the Foundation. The Board of Directors of the Foundation, a 501(c)(3) public charity, is required to be controlled by Directors who are nominated to the Board by Publicly Supported Organizations (PSOs), as that term is defined in the Internal Revenue Code. PSOs must be actively engaged in developing, encouraging and maintaining a cardiovascular science program in the United States. Northwestern and Washington join five other nominating PSOs of the Foundation: Columbia University, Duke University, Johns Hopkins University, Mount Sinai Medical Center and University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. These seven PSOs are thus entitled to nominate candidates for election to the Board of Directors. The Permanent Successor to Dr. Stanley J. Sarnoff nominates the remaining candidates for election to the Board of Directors.

Ann Marie Schmidt, M.D.
Iven Young Professor of Endocrinology
New York University Langone Medical Centger
View biography
Charles Lowenstein, M.D.
Immediate Past Chair
Chief, Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine
University of Rochester
View biography
Debra Schwinn, MD
Vice Chair
Professor and Chair of Anesthesiology
University of Washington
View biography
Jon Lomasney, M.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Pathology and Department of Molecular Pharmacology and Biological Chemistry
Northwestern University School of Medicine
View biography
Ivor Benjamin, M.D.
Chief of Cardiology
University of Utah Health Sciences Center
Michael Cain, M.D. Dean, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
University at Buffalo
View biography
Anne Curtis, M.D. Charles and Mary Bauer Professor of Medicine
Chair, Department of Medicine University at Buffalo
View biography
David Kandzari, M.D. Director, Interventional Cardiology Research
Piedmont Heart Institute
LaJolla, CA
View biography
Clay Marsh, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
The Ohio State University Medical Center
View biography
Andrew Plump, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice President and Worldwide Discovery Head for Cardiovascular Diseases
Merck & Co., Inc.
Ann Taylor Anne Taylor, M.D. Vice Dean for Academic Affairs
Columbia University Medical Center
College of Physicians and Surgeons
View biography
Philip Tsao, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine
Myron Weisfeldt, M.D. Chairman of the Department of Medicine
Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions
View biography
Anita Ying, M.D.
Assistant Professor Department of Endocrine Neoplasia and Hormonal Disorders
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Print this page Email this page 
Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation
731 G-2 Walker Road, Great Falls, VA 22066
P: (888) 4-SARNOFF or (703) 759-7600   -   F: (703) 759-7838   -   Email: